How to choose a PSA resource
The PSA has eight item styles and three of them are not multiple choice: a prescription written on a chart, a drug chart to tick and a number to type. Marks are concentrated in prescribing (80 of 200), and the assessment is open-book with the BNF. Those facts suggest the questions to ask of any resource:
- Format fidelityDoes it practise all eight item styles in their own formats, or only single-best-answer questions?
- Prescribing markingIs a written prescription marked in the two halves the official scheme uses (drug; dose, route and frequency), with partial credit?
- Full timed papersHow many complete 60-item papers can you sit at exam pace, and does it report a score by section?
- ExplanationsDoes every question explain the credited answer and the alternatives, and point you to the BNF where a figure matters?
- Price and free accessWhat can you try before paying, and what does full access cost?
The table reports only what each resource's own page states; it does not rate them. Where a page did not give a figure the cell says not stated; where the page could not be fetched on the day it says could not be checked.
The comparison
| Resource | What it is | Questions (as stated) | Full papers / mocks (as stated) | Price (as stated) | Free tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PassthePSA passthepsa.com | Online question bank and full mock papers in all eight PSA item styles, with free-text prescribing marked in two halves | 1,207 | 11 full papers (60 items, 200 marks) | Free | Yes |
| Official practice papers (MSC Assessment / BPS) prescribingsafetyassessment.ac.uk | Practice papers inside the official PSA platform for candidates registered by their school | not stated | at least three practice papers before the main event (UKFP) | Included with registration | For registered candidates |
| Geeky Medics PSA Question Bank geekymedics.com/psa-question-bank | Online question bank with mock exams, webinar recordings and topic summaries | “800+ PSA questions” on the bank page (the mock-exam page says “600+ practice questions”) | “three mock exams” | not stated on the page (sold as a PSA Question Bank purchase or within the Everything Plan) | not stated |
| iatroX PSA www.iatrox.com/psa | Online question bank with a revision guide page | “1,000+ questions” | not stated | “No subscription is required for this question bank” | Yes |
| Medibuddy PSA Question Bank medibuddy.co.uk/psa/question-bank | Online question bank | “490+ questions” | not stated | £12.00 for 12 months | not stated |
| Passmed PSA www.passmed.uk/exam/psa | Single-best-answer question bank with timed and tutor modes | “450 Single Best Answer (SBA) questions” | not stated | £7 to £19 depending on subscription length (1 to 12 months) | not stated |
| Quesmed MLA question bank quesmed.com/mla-questionbank | UKMLA question bank that includes PSA mock tests | not stated for the PSA | “Seven PSA Mock Tests” in one place on the page and “5 PSA mock tests” in another | £39.99 or £59.99 annually (two tiers; the page does not say which includes the PSA mocks) | not stated |
| BPSA Portal: PSA Prep and Practice Papers portal.bpsassessment.com/portal-shop/psa-exam-prep | Nine free eLearning sessions (not a bank or mock) plus three paid practice papers | 120 questions across the three practice papers (30, 30 and 60 items) | one 60-item timed paper plus two 30-item papers | Practice papers £12, £15 and £25 each, or all three for £40; PSA Prep sessions free | Yes (PSA Prep) |
| Pass the PSA (Elsevier, 2nd edition, 2020) shop.elsevier.com/books/pass-the-psa/brown/978-0-7020-7769-2 | Printed revision book with one chapter per PSA section | not stated | not stated | not stated on the page | No |
| Mind the Bleep PSA mindthebleep.com/prescribing-safety-assessment | Free written guide and a free PSA course | not stated (no question bank described) | not stated | Free | Yes |
| BMJ OnExamination PSA www.onexamination.com/products/psa | Online question bank | could not be checked | could not be checked | could not be checked | could not be checked |
| Pastest Prescribing Skills www.pastest.com/medical-student-prescribing-safety-assessment | Prescribing questions within the Pastest medical-student subscription | could not be checked | could not be checked | could not be checked | could not be checked |
Notes and corrections
Figures in quotation marks are the resource's own words on 1 October 2026. Links go to the page each row was read from. PassthePSA's row uses the counts from its own bank at the last build. If you run one of these resources and a row is wrong or out of date, email support@passthepsa.com with the page that shows the correct figure and it will be corrected in the next build.
Questions people ask
Which PSA question bank is best?
This page does not rank them. Each row quotes the resource's own page so you can compare the things that matter to you: whether it practises all eight PSA item styles including free-text prescribing, how the prescribing is marked, how many full timed papers it offers, the quality of its explanations, and the price. Try the free parts of any that interest you.
Are the official practice papers enough on their own?
The official platform provides its own practice papers to registered candidates, and they are the authoritative sample of the format. Whether they are enough depends on how much practice you need; many students add a bank for volume and full timed papers for pacing.
Is PassthePSA included in this comparison?
Yes, in the first row, with the same columns as everyone else. PassthePSA publishes this page, so read the other rows at their own sites and check current prices there.
How current is this table?
Every row was read from the resource's own public page on 1 October 2026. Prices and counts change; if a row is out of date, email support@passthepsa.com and it will be corrected in the next build.
See what PassthePSA offers
Every question is free. 1,200+ PSA questions in all eight item styles and 11 full mock papers, marked like the assessment.
PSA exam dates and format · How to revise for the PSA · PSA exam guide